Thursday 7 September 2017

Malacañan declares Sept.11 a holiday to commemorate the 100th birthday of Pres. Marcos

The Dilawans will surely howl in protest…again.

The Duterte-Marcos relationship has been an issue ever since the presidential elections- from the Duterte-Bong Bong Marcos tandem and up to the decision of the President to let the former President Ferdinand Marcos be buried in the National Cemetery, and the recent issue regarding the return of some of the ill-gotten wealth.

Malacañan just made the notch a little bit higher…
AddMalacañan had declared Marcos' 100th birth anniversary as a nono-working holiday in his home province of Ilocos Norte( photo credit to owner)

 Malacañan through Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea signed Proclamation  No.  310 –declaring September 11, Monday as a special non-working holiday in Ilocos Norte province. This is to mark the 100th birth anniversary of the former President Ferdinand Marcos.

Ilocos Norte residents "be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies."  The Proclamation said.

The former president was born on September 11, 1917 in the town of Sarrat, Ilocos Norte.

The Proclamation further states that “ the Ilocano community has been annually celebrating the birthdate of the late Ferdinand E. Marcos and commemorating his life and contributions to the national development as a World War II veteran, distinguished legislator and former president.”

The late father of President Duterte – Vicente served in the Marcos’ Cabinet,  last year he authorized the former president’s burial at the Libingan ng mga Bayani, saying there were n impediments to the internment.

Last month, the Supreme Court (SC) has affirmed with finality the motions for reconsideration on the transfer and burial of former President Ferdinand E. Marcos.

The Supreme Court en banc voted 10-5 in dismissing the motion for reconsideration.  Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta was the one who made the ponencia.

 “Wherefore, the motions for reconsideration as well as the motion/petition to exhume Marcos’ remains at the LNMB are Denied with Finality. The petition for indirect contempt in G.R. No. 228186 and G.R. No. 228245 are Dismissed for lack of merit,”

The ten justices were Associate Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Mariano del Castillo, Teresita de Castro, Jose Mendoza, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Justices Presbitero Velasco Jr,  Samuel Martires, Andres Reyes Jr., and Noel Tijam. *
The five justices included Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, together with Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, and Associate Justices Francis Jardaleza, Marvic Leonen,  and Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa.

Justices  Andres reyes, Samuel Martires, and Noel Tijam all of which are appointees of President Duterte voted with the majority.



Load disqus comments